

Minutes of the General Meeting of the New Mexico Search and Rescue Council July 27, 2020

Call to Order

The general meeting of the New Mexico Search and Rescue Council (NMSARC) was called to order at 7:05 p.m. on Monday, July 27, 2020 via teleconference by David Price.

Present

Board Members:

- Jon Hitchcock, Civil Air Patrol, NMSARC Treasurer
- Terry Ann Miller, Pajarito K9 Search and Rescue/New Mexico Working K9s, NMSARC Membership Chair
- Ruth Ann Neal, Mountain Canine Corps, NMSARC ESCAPE Chair
- Erik Nelson, Atalaya Search and Rescue, NMSARC Communications Committee
- Ron Nelson, Santa Fe Search and Rescue, NMSARC Communications Committee
- David Price, Organ Mountain Technical Rescue Squad, NMSARC President
- Tamar Stieber, Taos Search and Rescue, NMSARC Secretary
- Larry Zentner, Civil Air Patrol, NMSARC Vice President

Team Representatives:

- Bob Almond, Organ Mountain Technical Rescue Squad
- Lette Birn, Mountain Canine Corps
- Wendee Brunish, Pajarito K9 Search and Rescue
- Taylor Coleman, Rio Rancho Search and Rescue
- Nathan Conroy, Los Alamos Auxiliary Fire Brigade
- Billy Emanuel, New Mexico Working K9s
- Steve Friedman, McKinley County Search and Rescue
- Jack Fulton, Santa Fe Search and Rescue
- Tony Gaier, Cibola Search and Rescue
- Zoe Havlena, Socorro Search and Rescue
- Jon Hitchcock, Civil Air Patrol
- Russ Imler, Grant County Search and Rescue
- Marc Levesque, Mustang Search and Rescue
- Ann McPhee, Dona Ana County Search and Rescue
- Chuck Melvin, K9 Search and Rescue Team
- Tyler Mobraten, Socorro Search and Rescue,
- Terry Morton, New Mexico Working K9s

- Erik Nelson, Atalaya Search and Rescue
- Rick Overmier Chavez County Search and Rescue
- Bill Scherzinger, Albuquerque Mountain Rescue Council
- Jacob Snellings Alamogordo Search and Rescue
- Tamar Stieber, Taos Search and Rescue
- Vic Villalobos, Mesilla Valley Search and Rescue
- Bruce Waggoner, Catron County Search and Rescue
- Rick Wiedenmann, Eddy County Search and Rescue
- Larry Zentner, Civil Air Patrol

Approval of Agenda

The agenda was unanimously approved as distributed.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the previous meeting were unanimously approved as distributed.

Budget

Treasurer Jon Hitchcock presented the final budget through July 27, 2020 (attached). The budget was unanimously approved as presented.

Member Elections

Upon a motion by Vic Villalobos and a second from Terry Ann Miller, Tyler Mobraten of Socorro Search and Rescue was unanimously elected as a new member of the NMSARC board, and NMSARC Treasurer Jon Hitchcock of Civil Air Patrol and NMSARC ESCAPE Chair Ruth Ann Neal of Mountain Canine Corps were unanimously re-elected to their respective positions on the board. Board directors serve three-year terms.

Old Business

♦ None

New Business

♦ ESCAPE

- ESCAPE Chair Ruth Ann Neal announced that if pandemic restrictions allow, the 2021 ESCAPE conference will take place at Philmont Scout Ranch from April 8 through April 11, 2021. She welcomed any help with and/or suggestions for the conference.
- Outgoing Membership Chair Terry Ann Miller said that anyone interested in helping with sponsorships or fundraising for ESCAPE should contact the board.

Agenda for Next Meeting

The next general meeting will be at a date, time and location to be announced.

Adjournment

Upon a motion by Bruce Waggoner and a second by Jacob Snellings, the 2020 General Meeting of the New Mexico Search and Rescue Council was adjourned at 7:23 p.m. by David Price.

Minutes submitted by: Tamar Stieber