

NMSARC Board General Meeting Saturday, April 1, 2017 Las Cruces Convention Center – Ballroom 1

Call to Order: Meeting called to order by Mary Walker at 08:05 am

Introductions to NMSARC Board Members:

- 1. Mary Walker Chair
- 2. David Price Vice Chair
- 3. Verena Weissenborn Secretary
- 4. Larry Zentner Treasurer
- 5. Roberta Armstrong ESCAPE/Fundraising
- 6. Michaela Buenemann Mapping Program
- 7. Aimee Adamek Membership
- 8. Terry Morton Communications & Repeaters
- 9. Sean McGann Training

Minutes from ESCAPE 2016 - Prepared by Mary Walker; presented by Mary Walker

• Approval of meeting minutes from ESCAPE 2016. Bob Cort moved to approve; Marty Soffran seconded. 28 voted in favor, none opposed, none abstained

Treasurer's Report - Larry Zentner

- NMSARC is solvent with no financial concerns
- All required federal and state forms are filed and up-to-date
- FY 2016 Budget presented with zero balance
- Significant donations have been received from families of SAR mission subjects

ESCAPE 2017 Report – Roberta Armstrong

- Just prior to conference we had 173 full registrations plus 44 day pass registrations, and various other combinations; numbers are considerably up from the previous year
- Vendor Rescue Tactic & Training
- Many valuable sponsors were recognized including businesses and individual SAR teams
- Bob Rodgers & Bob Baker lunch speakers
- Bob Koester dinner speaker
- Silent auction to be held through Saturday afternoon as well as 50:50 raffle
- ESCAPE 2018 tentatively to take place at Glorieta Camps, likely with late April time frame

Training - Sean McGann

NMSARC Board assisting with reimbursement of training activities by the DPS

- o Funds change from year to year
- o In past year, approximately \$5,000 spent by NMSARC and subsequently reimbursed by DPS
- Training activities are multi-team and have included events such as Rowe Mesa Mock Search, Blackhawk Training in Taos, GPS & Land Navigation Course, and K9 Live Find Air Scent in Albuquerque
- Applications for trainings can be submitted on the new NMSARC website
 - The overall process is still under development
 - o Sean McGann may also be contacted directly via phone or e-mail

Mapping Program – Michaela Buenemann

- Provided an update on costs, numbers, and capability
- Mapping table set up in ESCAPE Exhibit Hall
- Additional resources available on the NMSARC website

Membership – Aimee Adamek

- 39 current member teams; two teams did not renew
- Three new teams were added: UNM Reach & Treat based in Albuquerque, Mustang SAR based in Silver City, Southern NM Mounted SAR based in Las Cruces

Website - Aimee Adamek

- New website launched June 1, 2016
- New features such as online ESCAPE conference registration, event submission
- Mission reports are uploaded as they become available
- Trainings and events are regularly updated; teams are encouraged to submit new training events

Fallen Heroes - Mary Walker

- Kurt Parkinson, San Miguel County SAR
- Anita Winona Luna County SAR
- K9 Atika K9 SAR
- K9 Selah Grant County SAR

Ralph Dawdy Memorial Award and Service Awards – Mary Walker, David Price

- Ralph Dawdy Award
 - Laura Tracey, daughter of Ralph Dawdy, was in attendance and introduced
 - Three nominations were received. Matt Coulombe from NM Mounted SAR was chosen as the award winner, for his commitment and dedication to search and rescue in New Mexico

• Departing Board Members recognized

o Thanks to Larry Zentner, Roberta Armstrong, Mary Walker, and Verena Weissenborn

Bylaws Changes – Verena Weissenborn, Larry Zentner

- Proposed bylaws changes per request of Wells Fargo related to signatory card and signatures on checks
- Bylaws changes provided to member teams 30 days in advance and provided in their team conference packets Revision of Section 3. Signatories:

- A. Signatories for Council financial accounts shall consist of the Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, ESCAPE Chair, and Treasurer as a minimum: more board members may be added as required.
- B. Only one signature is required for banking, checking, and savings account signature card authorizations.
- C. Any transaction amount below \$1,000.00n requires approval of one board member as a minimum.
- O. Any transaction amount at or over \$1,000.00 requires approval of two board members as a minimum.
- Approval of bylaws changes. Bob Cort moved to approve; Jon Hitchcock seconded. After continued discussion, Jon Hitchcock called the question to vote: 25 voted in favor. 19 voted in favor of approval of the bylaws changes as written on page 5 of distributed packet, 3 opposed, none abstained

Membership Dues Update – Aimee Adamek

- Recommending membership categories to be adjusted based on size of team to make dues more fair and provide modest increase for NMSARC operating expenses.
 - o Proposed dues structure beginning in 2018:
 - *Individual membership (no team affiliation):* \$25
 - Agency membership; Use categories below
 - *Teams 1-9 members:* \$25
 - *Teams 10-19 members:* \$50
 - *Teams 20-29 members: \$70*
 - *Teams 30-39 members:* \$90
 - *Teams 40-49 members: \$110*
 - *Teams 50-59 members: \$130*
 - Teams 60 or more members: \$150
- Team size based on numbers submitted by teams on their application form
- Approval of membership dues changes. Vic Villalobos moved to approve; Phyllis Wright seconded. 24 voted in favor, 1 opposed, none abstained

Proposed Forum Guidelines – Roberta Armstrong

- There have been no official usage guidelines in place for the NMSAR-Forum
- Proposed rules were distributed to member teams in conference packets
- No concerns or questions from membership; rules will be made active ASAP

Board Elections - Verena Weissenborn

- A total of five board membership positions to be filled
- Nominations:
 - o Terry Ann Miller Pajarito K9 SAR, New Mexico Working K9s
 - o Jon Hitchcock Civil Air Patrol
 - o Jenna White Cibola SAR and UNM Reach and Treat
 - Scott Voorhees Santa Fe Sheriff's Posse
 - o Grant Reigelman Philmont SAR
 - o Ruth Ann Neal Mountain K9 Corp (added to the ballot at the general meeting)
- Voting ballots were collected from the membership representatives present:
 - o Terry Ann Miller received 21 votes

- o Jon Hitchcock received 27 votes
- o Jenna White received 26 votes
- Scott Voorhees received 26 votes
- o Grant Reigelman received 15 votes
- o Ruth Ann Neal received 10 votes

Bob Cort moved to adjourn; Nancy Sklavos-Gillett seconded. 28 voted in favor, none opposed, none abstained.

The meeting was adjourned at 09:40 am.

Respectively submitted Verena Weissenborn